Julia B. Waxter Environmental Forum

The Julia B. Waxter Environmental Forum is supported by an endowment established by the late Julia Baldwin Waxter ’49 and her husband, Bill.

In addition to presenting a public lecture, each forum speaker interacts with environmental science students through class visits, a dinner and informal conversations.

2023 Elizabeth Rush Pulitzer Prize finalist and former journalist. Author of Rising: Dispatches from the New American Shore
2021 Elizabeth Kolbert Pulitzer-prize winning author of The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History and journalist. 
2018 Ginette Hemley Wildlife conservation: Senior vice president for wildlife conservation at the World Wildlife Fund
2016 Joan Maloof Scientist/writer: Old-growth forest conservation
2015 Burt English Agricultural economics: Biofuels
2014 Josh Fox Filmmaker: “Gasland”
2013 Barbara Kingsolver Writer: “Flight Behavior”
2012 Brian Donahue Historian: Environmental history (forests, agriculture, New England)
2010 Amanda Griscom Little Journalist  
2009 Scott Russell Sanders Writer: Fiction and non-fiction, including “A Conservationist Manifesto.”  
2008 William Schlesinger Scientist: Biogeochemist, dean of Nicholas School of the Environment, Duke University
2007 Michael Pollan Writer: “Omnivore’s Dilemma”
2006 W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr. Government: Virginia’s secretary of natural resources from 2002-2005  
2005 Mark Hertsgaard Journalist: “Earth Odyssey”  
2004 E. O. Wilson Scientist: Biodiversity loss  
2003 Severn Cullis-Suzuki Young activist: Intergenerational justice  
2002 Michael Mann and Pat Michaels Scientists: Climate change debate  
2001 Julia Butterfly Hill Young activist: Saving California’s redwoods.  
2000 David Orvos Scientist: Ecotoxicology  
1999 Adam Werbach  Young activist: Young president of the Sierra Club