Faculty

Neli headshot

Neli Andersen

Adjunct Instructor of Business

e: nandersen@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6119 
o:

Benedict 305

Jonathon Bender photo

Jonathan Bender

Director of The Margaret Jones Wyllie ’45 Engineering Program and Professor of Engineering

e: jbender@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6104 
o:

Guion 04

Justine Betzler

Equine Coordinator, Field Riding Instructor

e: jbetzler@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6116 
o: Harriet Rogers Riding Center

Anna Grazhdanova Billias

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Performing Arts: Music

e: abillias@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6491 
o: Babcock Fine Arts Center 124

Molly Boggs

Director of Academic Writing

e: mboggs@sbc.edu 
p: 434-318-6708 
o: Prothro 204

Kala Bonner

Assistant Professor of Biology

e: kbonner@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6214 
o:

Guion 203

Ashlyn Brady-Lusk Photo taken on Thursday, Sept. 15, 2022.

Ashlyn Brady

Assistant Professor of Psychology

e: abradylusk@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6129 
o: Guion A08
Paige Bridges Photo taken on Thursday, Sept. 22, 2022.

Paige Bridges

Assistant Professor of Business

e: pbridges@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6270 
o:

Benedict Hall 313

Need Caption

John Gregory Brown

Julia Jackson Nichols Professor of English and Creative Writing

e: brown@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6434 
o: Fletcher Hall 217
Quill Camp photo taken Mar 22, 2023

Robert Quillen Camp

Assistant Professor of Theatre and Theatre Program Chair

e: qcamp@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6159 
o: Babcock 123

Ryan Davis

Adjunct Instructor of Music

e: rdavis@sbc.edu 

o: Babcock 012

Sandra Duis

Assistant Professor of Psychology

Ebner

David Brooks Ebner

Assistant Professor of Political Science

e: debner@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6114 
o: Benedict 204

Elizabeth “Lizzie” Fisch

Associate Director of the Riding Program, Head IHSA Coach, Assistant NCEA Coach, Riding Instructor

e: lfisch@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6367 
o: Harriet Rogers Riding Center
Alexandra Fredal, MBA

Alexandra Fredal, MBA

Riding Instructor, ANRC Head Coach

e: afredal@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6559 
o: Harriet Rogers Riding Center

Teresa Garrett

Professor of Chemistry

Michelle Gervasio

Assistant Professor of Engineering, Honors Summer Research Program Director

e: mgervasio@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6118 
o: Guion 127A
A friendly looking person with curly hair and wearing glasses

Lore Guilmartin

Director of Library Services

e: lguilmartin@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6287 
o: Library 158

Tracy Chapman Hamilton

Associate Professor of Visual Arts: Art History, Director of Faculty Development

e: thamilton@sbc.edu 

o: Pannell 203

Lou Haney

Adjunct Assistant Professor

e: lhaney@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6280 
o: Art Barn 205

August Hardy

Assistant Professor of Economics

e: ahardy@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6149 
o: Benedict 213
Dr. Joshua Harris in his studio.

Joshua Harris

Associate Professor of Music and Music Program Chair

e: jkharris@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6115 
o:

Babcock Fine Arts Center 126

Eric Hollandsworth

Eric Hollandsworth

Adjunct Instructor of Performing Arts: Music

e: ehollandsworth@sbc.edu 

o: Babcock Fine Arts Center 012
Greg Huey

Gregory Huey

Visiting Assistant Professor of Mathematics

e: ghuey@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6167 
o: Guion A206

Jeffrey Evan Key

Acting Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean of the College & Associate Professor of Political Science

e: jkey@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6460 
o: Benedict 204
Megan Kobiela Photo taken on Thursday, Sept. 22, 2022.

Megan E. Kobiela

Assistant Professor of Biology

e: mkobiela@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6529 
o: Guion A104

Bryan Kuhr

Assistant Professor of Engineering

e: bkuhr@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6560 
o: Guion 131

Lynn Marie Laufenberg

Associate Professor of History, Pre-law Advisor, Director of Leadership Core, Virginia at Oxford Contact

e: llaufenberg@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6189 
o: Benedict 307
Dr. Lili Lei

Lili Lei

Assistant Professor of Biology and Environmental Science

e: llei@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6365 
o: Guion Science Center 123

Zhen Liang

Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Tim Loboschefski

Professor of Psychology

e: tlobo@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6225 
o: Guion Science Center | Lower Level, A04
Sarah Miller

Sarah Miller '20

Riding Instructor, Assistant IHSA Coach

e: srmiller@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6565 
o: Harriet Rogers Riding Center

David Morris

Visiting Assistant Professor of Chemistry, Chemical Hygiene Officer

e: dmorris@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6197 
o: Guion 223

John F. Morrissey

Professor of Biology and Pre-Vet Advisor

e: jmorrissey@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6190 
o: Guion Science Center | First Floor, 117
Susannah Nevison

Susannah Nevison

Assistant Professor of English and Creative Writing

e: snevison@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6220 
o: Fletcher Hall 204
Danquynh Nguyen Photo taken on Thursday, Sept. 15, 2022.

Danquynh Nguyen

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

e: dnguyen@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6213 
o: Guion A204

Shawn O’Connor

Assistant Professor of Visual Arts: Studio Art

e: soconnor@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6247 
o: Ceramics Studio

Christopher Penfield

Associate Professor of Philosophy

e: cpenfield@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6312 
o: Benedict 207
photo of Dr. Pennington

Leighann Pennington

Assistant Professor of Education

e: lpennington@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6199 
o: Benedict 312

Laura Pharis

Professor of Visual Arts: Studio Art

e: lpharis@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6195 
o: Art Barn

Jeannette Pillsbury '72

Associate Professor and Director of the Education Program

e: jpillsbury@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6546 
o: Benedict 310

Erin Pitt

Assistant Professor of Archaeology and Ancient Studies, Director of Quality Enhancement Program (QEP)

e: epitt@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6234 
o: Benedict 304

Lisa Jordan Powell

STEM Division Head, Director of the Center for Human and Environmental Sustainability, Associate Professor of Environmental Science and Agriculture

e: lpowell@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6166 
o: Guion Science Center | A102
Temp headshot

Thomas Rogers

Instructor of Business

e: trogers@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6497 
o: Benedict 314

Kay Rooney

Adjunct Instructor of Performing Arts: Music

e: krooney@sbc.edu 

o: Babcock Fine Arts Center 012
Md Golam Rosul Photo taken on Thursday, Sept. 15, 2022.

Md Golam Rosul

Assistant Professor of Engineering

e: mrosul@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6255 
o: Guion 05
Joe Sacsteder Photo taken on Thursday, Sept. 15, 2022.

Joe Sacksteder

Assistant Professor of English and Creative Writing

e: jsacksteder@sbc.edu 
p: 434-81-6575 
o: Fletcher Hall 204
headshot of a piano instructor

Judith Schulz '61

Adjunct Instructor of Music

e: jschulz@sbc.edu 

o: Babcock Fine Arts Center 012

Timothy Scott

Professor of Practice

e: tscott@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6557 
o: Guion Science Center 031
Shametaj excavating in Butrint, Albania.

Mirgen Shametaj

Adjunct Instructor

e: mshametaj@sbc.edu 

o: Benedict 206
Brent Mack Shea

Brent Mack Shea

Professor of Sociology (Emeritus & Adjunct)

e: shea@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6193 
o: Benedict Hall 105
Profile Picture

Pam Simpson '09

Instructor of Chemistry, Lab Manager

e: psimpson@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6443 
o: Guion Science Center 201
Performance photo from the work Rapture with Pearson Widrig Dance Theatre, presented at Dance Place in Washington, D.C.

Betty Skeen '07

Assistant Professor of Dance

e: bskeen@sbc.edu 
p: 803.640.0955 
o: Babcock 130

Nathaniel Webb Smith

Assistant Professor of Economics

e: nwsmith@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6355 
o: Benedict 212
Amelie Smucker

Amelie Drake Smucker '10 & 11

Field Placement Coordinator & Adjunct Instructor of Education

e: asmucker@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6480 
o: Benedict 311

Claire Stankus

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Studio Art

e: cstankus@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6278 
o: Art Barn 205

Jeffrey Steele

Adjunct Instructor of Physics

e: jsteele@sbc.edu 

o: Guion 223
GDS Headshot

Glenn Davis Stone

Research Professor of Environmental Science

e: gstone@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6148 
o: Benedict 203

Medford Taylor

Adjunct Instructor of Visual Arts: Studio Art

e: mtaylor@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6105 
o: Art Barn
Photo of McCormick Templeman

McCormick Templeman

Assistant Professor of Theatre

e: mtempleman@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6307 
o: Babcock 103

Anne Elise Thomas

Assistant Professor of Performing Arts: Music

e: athomas@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6121 
o: Babcock Fine Arts Center 125

Erica Trabold

Assistant Professor of English and Creative Writing

e: etrabold@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6181 
o: Fletcher Hall 205

Cheryl Warnock

Technical Director, Associate Professor of Performing Arts: Theatre

e: cwarnock@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6227 
o: Babcock Fine Arts Center 102
Dr. Dwana Waugh

Dwana Waugh

Associate Professor of History, Social Sciences & Humanities Division Head

e: dwaugh@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6174 
o: Benedict 303

Joshua Wheeler

Assistant Professor of Political Science

e: jwheeler@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6216 
o: Benedict 214

Merrilee “Mimi” Wroten '93

Director of the Riding Program, Head NCEA Coach, Riding Instructor

e: mwroten@sbc.edu 
p: 434-381-6348 
o: Harriet Rogers Riding Center