2020 Athletics and Riding Awards Banquet

Posted on May 27, 2020 by Abby May

Emily Wandling Emily Wandling ’20

Tennis student-athlete Emily Wandling ’20 wrapped-up an impressive week of honors on Friday evening as she was honored as the recipient of the Crysler Award at Sweet Briar Athletic’s annual awards ceremony.

Presented virtually, the 2020 Athletics and Riding Awards Banquet highlighted the successes of Sweet Briar athletes and riders during the academic year. 

The headliner on Friday evening was the presentation of the prestigious Crysler Award, presented to Emily (Mechanicsville, Va.). The Crysler Award, named after Cannie Crysler Shafer ’78, has been presented since 1979 to an outstanding four-year student-athlete to honor her continuous commitment, sportsmanship and achievement in sport. During the week of the awards ceremony, Emily was recognized by the College Sports Information Directors of America as a First Team Academic All-District selection and by the Virginia Sports Information Directors as a First Team All-State Doubles honoree. Emily was named the Old Dominion Athletic Conference Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year in 2020 and in 2019 was a First Team CoSIDA Academic All-District selection and Second Team All-ODAC recipient at No. 1 singles.

Katie Balding ’21 (Williamsburg, Va.) was named the 2020 Rider of the Year, following an NCEA season that saw her named All-Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference over fences and on flat. Katie broke a handful of school records in 2020 and was a three-time ECAC Rider of the Week selection.

Emily’s tennis doubles partner, Ruth de Souza ’23 (Marilia, Brazil), received Athlete of the Year laurels. Previously recognized as a VaSID First Team All-State Doubles honoree, Ruth won a pair of doubles tournament titles in the fall and finished her debut season at Sweet Briar with winning records at No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles.

Lacey Tucker ’20 (Swansboro, N.C.), a four-year member of the soccer and tennis teams, was presented the Coach’s Award. This award is given to a graduating student-athlete who demonstrated significant athletic achievement, represented Vixen Athletics with integrity in the Sweet Briar community and showed dedication to the advancement of the program. Lacey was a two-sport student-athlete for four years while boasting a 3.9 cumulative grade point average in engineering.

After being named the ECAC Fences Freshman of the Year, Sophie Kane ’23 (Carbondale, Colo.) was named Sweet Briar’s Rookie Rider of the Year. Sophie broke Sweet Briar’s school record for the highest score over fences when she tallied an 88 in a win against SUNY New Paltz.

Tennis player Allison Wandling ’23 (Mechanicsville, Va.) was acknowledged as the Sweet Briar Rookie Athlete of the Year after previously being honored as VaSID First Team All-State in singles and Second Team All-State in doubles after posting the eighth-most singles victory in a single season in Sweet Briar tennis history.

The 2020 Susan Lehman Courage Award, which is presented to a student-athlete who has demonstrated courage above and beyond the usual rigors of training and competition, was presented to a pair of first-year student-athletes. Shannon Huth ’23 (Greensboro, N.C.) of the IHSA equestrian team and Riahn Holcomb ’23 (Wheaton, Ill.) of the tennis program were named the 2020 Susan Lehman Courage Award recipients.

Presented to a student-athlete with regard to her sportsmanship, team spirit and commitment to varsity athletics at Sweet Briar, the Class of 1977 Sportsmanship Award was presented to sophomore field hockey and lacrosse student-athlete Ingrid Stacia ’22 (Richmond, Va.).

The Whiteman Award is presented to a student-athlete with a high scholastic average, sportsmanship and outstanding achievement in sport. Fresh off being named the ODAC Equestrian Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Lily Peterson ’21 (Ashland, Va.) was presented the Whiteman Award. Lily had a successful season in the ring for the Vixens’ NCEA team and holds a cumulative grade point average of 3.96 in studio art.

The recipient of the Jean Pschirrer First-Year Athlete of the Year Award was soccer student-athlete Katelyn Meyer ’23 (Smithsburg, Md.). This award is presented to a first-year varsity student-athlete who demonstrates dedication, motivation, sportsmanship and a true love of her sport.

The Sweet Briar Student-Athlete Advisory Committee presented the 2019–20 Robert Barlow Faculty/Staff Award to economics professor August Hardy.

Each coach added to the award ceremony by selecting a Pink and Green Award winner from their respective teams. The Pink and Green honorees are:

  • Cross Country: Amber Snyder ’20 (Jefferson, Md.)

  • Field Hockey: Kaytee Reynolds ’23 (Sydney, Australia)

  • Golf: Katie Hawk ’21 (Goochland, Va.)

  • IHSA: Sarah Miller ’20 (Culpeper, Va.)

  • Lacrosse: K. Mullins ’20 (Richmond, Va.)

  • NCEA: Katie Balding ’21 (Williamsburg, Va.)

  • Soccer: Victoria Lawson ’20 (Shipman, Va.)

  • Swimming: Peyton Murphy ’23 (Norfolk, Va.)

  • Tennis: Kate Kotany ’23 (Erd, Hungary)

This article was originally published on the Sweet Briar College Athletics website.