From the arts to STEM, awards honor Class of 2019 for academic excellence

Posted on May 17, 2019 by Janika Carey

Awards Pannell
During a special awards ceremony in Pannell Gallery this afternoon, seniors received a number of awards to honor their academic excellence in areas across the liberal arts and sciences. Sweet Briar College presented individual honors to several members of the Class of 2019 as well as one M.A.T. candidate. Dean’s list students and members of honor societies also were recognized.

President Meredith Woo presided, while Acting Dean Jeff Key and faculty members in each discipline presented the various prizes. Before announcing the special awards, Key presented two certificate recipients: Jade Tiara Smith, who earned an Arts Management Certificate, and Julia Aoife Magner, who completed an Equine Studies Certificate. Below is a list of all individual awards:

  • The Alpha Lambda Delta book award: Caroline Margaret Thomas

  • The Economics Department Outstanding Senior Award: Chanel Chiara Friedrich

  • The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International Outstanding Scholar Education Award:
    Emily Blair Hawk ’18

  • The Poetry Prize: Amelia Claire Currin

  • The Anne Gary Pannell Taylor Award in History: Maya Leslie Margaret White

  • The Helen K. Mull Graduate Fellowship in Psychology: Emily Eugenie Schlosberg

  • The Leigh Woolverton Prize for Excellence in the Visual Arts: Emily Beatrice Covault Jones