Academic and College awards presented to students at Founders’ Day Convocation

Posted on September 25, 2018 by Amy Ostroth

Dean Lynn Rainville awards college and departmental awards
During the 2018 Founders’ Day Convocation last week, Dean Lynn Rainville announced the winners of the academic and College awards.

Each year, the College recognizes academic achievement by conferring the honorary title of Emilie Watts McVea Scholar on the highest ranking member of each class. The award bears the name of the second president of the College. This year’s winners are Heather Lakner ’19, Sophia Dessart ’20, Jordan Elliott ’20, Amelia Mendelsohn ’20 and Annabella Falls ’21.

The Nancy Godwin Baldwin ’57 Scholars were awarded for the first time in 2015, honoring Baldwin’s 54 years of service to Sweet Briar. The scholarships are awarded to students who have made major contributions to the school and community through their leadership and demonstration of academic excellence. This year’s Baldwin Scholars are Olivia Byrd ’19, Heather Lakner ’19, Maya Margaret White ’19, Jordan Elliott ’20 and Amelia Mendelsohn ’20.

Lacey Tucker ’20 was recognized with the Mary Kendrick Benedict Award, established in 1945 by former students, colleagues and other friends of the first president of Sweet Briar College, to honor an upperclass student of high academic standing and personal integrity who has shown a purpose for service in her college experience.

The Sarah Porter Boehmler ’65 Scholarship was awarded to Jenna Steinle ’22. The scholarship was established in 2006 to recognize a first-year student who exemplifies the qualities of leadership, character and integrity, as well as academic and extracurricular achievement balanced with participation in sports, dance or other health-related activities. This scholarship honors its namesake for her role as a mentor to young women and the first woman senior executive of the American Stock Exchange.

The Legacy Scholar award went to Cecilia Mahan ’19. Established in 1974 by the board of the Alumnae Association (now Alumnae Alliance) to honor an alumna legacy student in either the junior or senior class who has demonstrated, while at Sweet Briar, the traditions of sound learning and social responsibility that have characterized the alumnae of the College since its founding.

Emily Wandling ’20 was awarded the Manson Memorial Scholarship, established in memory of N.C. Manson Jr. to give recognition to an upperclass student of high academic standing who shows qualities of leadership and makes a constructive contribution to student life.

Jordan Macurak ’21 was recognized with the Rickards Award. Established in 1974 by Frances Murrell Rickards, Class of 1910, in memory of her son, who died in World War II, and her husband, this award is given to one or more members of the rising sophomore class who best demonstrate potential for leadership, academic excellence and community involvement — qualities that have distinguished the College throughout its history.

Finally, the Mary Mackintosh Sherer Award went to Victoria Stacpoole ’20. Established by friends of Mary MacKintosh Sherer, the award recognizes a rising junior who, as a leader and scholar, demonstrates the outgoing and cheerful qualities long associated with Mary MacKintosh Sherer.

The following students were also recognized with departmental academic prizes:

  • The Jean Besselievre Boley Award: Mary Rossi ’21

  • The Julia Sadler de Coligny Award: Ellis Carroll ’20

  • The Kenmore Scholar: Maya White ’19

  • The Rebecca Tomlinson Lindblom Award: Cecilia Mahan ’19

  • The Irene Mitchell Moore Scholarship: Chanel Friedrich ’19

  • The Loren Oliver Award in Studio Art: Emily Jones ’19

  • The Lucile Barrow Turner Award: Mary Williams ’20