Outstanding seniors honored at 2018 Awards Convocation

Posted on May 11, 2018 by Janika Carey

Awards Convocation
Each year, Sweet Briar College presents a number of awards to seniors to honor their academic excellence in areas across the liberal arts and sciences. Several members of the Class of 2018 and one M.A.T. candidate received individual awards this afternoon during a special convocation in Murchison Lane Auditorium. Dean’s list students and members of honor societies were also recognized.

Acting Dean of the College Lynn Rainville presided, while faculty members in each discipline presented the following prizes:

  • The Kathryn Haw Prize in Art History: Kimberly Anne Colbert and Jessie Danielle Meager

  • The Sprague-Belcher Award in Biology: Julia Nicole Rhinehart

  • The Jean Taylor Meyer Memorial Poetry Prize: Kollin Simone Kirven

  • The Economics Department Outstanding Senior Award: April Rose Boyd

  • The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International Outstanding Scholar Education Award:
    Tristin Marie Burke ’17

  • The Excellence in Engineering Award: Samantha Jay Schwartz

  • The Lawrence G. Nelson Award: Lydia May Gullicksen and Magnolia Frances O’Donnell

  • The Shakespeare Prize: Lydia May Gullicksen

  • The Marcia Capron Award for Excellence in French: Arienna Rebecca Groves

  • The Pauline Roberts Otis Award in French: Bryanna Nirwana Colvin

  • The Anne Gary Pannell Taylor Award in History: Shelby Lee Benny

  • The Anne Gary Pannell Taylor Graduate Fellowship in History: Cassandra Corie Fenton

  • The Helen K. Mull Graduate Fellowship in Psychology: Baylee Ann Worth

  • The W. Edward Overly Award for Spanish: Ariana DeJesus Quesada

  • The Leigh Woolverton Prize for Excellence in the Visual Arts: Julia Gail Sudol

  • The Jessica Steinbrenner Molloy Award in Theatre Arts: Lauren Virginia Passaretti