Sweet Briar College announces ROSE Award winners

Posted on November 09, 2017 by Amy Ostroth

ROSE Awards ROSE Award winners Gloria Simon (from left), Gloria Smith, Leslie DeHart and John Tomlin

During a reception earlier today, President Meredith Woo announced the winners of Sweet Briar College’s ROSE Awards, which recognize staff excellence.

The awards were launched in 2006 to honor exemplary members of the Sweet Briar staff. Nominations are made by supervisors and co-workers and award winners each receive a plaque and a $500 stipend. Their names are also engraved on a plaque in Prothro. This year, the College received more than 15 nominations in four categories.

Excellence in Service honors those who provide exemplary service to members of the extended Sweet Briar community. This year’s winner, Gloria Smith, was nominated twice in this category for embodying excellence in student life. One nomination described her as “diplomatic, careful with criticism, quick to correct mistakes, a wonderful colleague and an unwavering advocate for our students.”

President Woo at ROSE Awards President Woo congratulates Gloria Smith, who is cheered on by Gloria Simon.

Excellence as a Team Member recognizes staff members who exhibit high levels of teamwork both in their department and across the College. This year’s winner was John Tomlin of physical plant. Tomlin’s nomination notes that he is caring to all members of his department and works hard to mentor any new folks who join them. His amazing work ethic is a model for the rest of his department to follow.

The Innovation category honors a staff member who implemented an idea that results in measurable improvement on campus. Leslie DeHart was the 2017 winner of this award for her commitment to efficiency in the housekeeping department. In her nomination, DeHart was recognized for her ability to deal with the unexpected surprises that happen without warning.

The Presidential Award is given to an employee who displays high character, dedication to the College, commitment to results and who values the College and its community. Gloria Simon was honored with this award for her commitment to serving the College’s prospective students and their families. Simon’s nomination noted that “[she] makes every visitor feel special and welcome, as if they are guests of honor, regardless of their enthusiasm level for Sweet Briar, and should someone come for a visit who doesn’t yet have high enthusiasm for Sweet Briar, Gloria will ensure they leave here absolutely loving the College.”

Other nominees were Tanya Anderson, Keith Coley, Kristie Evans, Marnie Lynch and Savannah Oxner for Excellence as a Team Member; Jan Campbell, Lynn Lewis, Cathy Mays, Leslie DeHart, and Gloria Simon for Excellence in Service; Julia Paris for Innovation and Ashley Dugger, Rich Meyer, Margaret Paige, Julia Paris, Kathleen Placidi and Deborah Powell for the Presidential Excellence Award.