Awards Convocation celebrates exceptional achievement among seniors

Posted on May 12, 2017 by Staff Writer

Alicia Wooten Alicia Wooten, shown here working on her 2016 Honors Summer Research project with faculty mentor Scott Hyman, won three awards.

Each year, Sweet Briar College presents a number of departmental and College awards to seniors to honor their academic excellence in areas across the liberal arts and sciences. Several members of the Class of 2017 and one M.A.T. candidate received awards this afternoon during a special convocation that preceded the annual Baccalaureate ceremony.

The following prizes were presented:

  • The American Association of University Women: Tristin Marie Burke

  • The Anthropology and Archaeology Department Book Prize: Rachel Hannah Altier

  • The Jean Besselievre Boley Award: Vanessa Adéle Finnegan

  • The Marcia Capron Award for Excellence in French: Jordyn Linsay Elliott, Briana Lynae McCall

  • The Crysler Award: Regina Carol Rutledge

  • The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International Outstanding Scholar Education Award:
    Victoria Louise Daniels ’16

  • The Excellence in Engineering Award: Madalyn Nicole Lee

  • The Kathryn Haw Prize in Art History: Caroline Catherine McDonald

  • The L’Alliance Francaise de Lynchburg: Hannah Casey Beall, Brea Michele Marshall

  • The George H. Lenz Excellence in Physics Award: Alicia Lorraine Wooten

  • The Mathematical Sciences Award: Alicia Lorraine Wooten

  • The Jessica Steinbrenner Molloy Award in Theatre Arts: Emelie Cynthia Wurster

  • The Helen K. Mull Graduate Fellowship in Psychology: Caroline Graves Melia

  • The Lawrence G. Nelson Award: Vanessa Adéle Finnegan

  • The Pauline Roberts Otis Award in French: Briana Lynae McCall

  • The W. Edward Overly Award for Spanish: Holly Evelyn Rueger

  • The Presidential Medal: Jessie Ruth Schuster

  • The Sprague-Belcher Award in Biology: Noell Turner Cosby

  • The Anne Gary Pannell Taylor Award in History: Hannah Casey Beall

  • The Anne Gary Pannell Taylor Graduate Fellowship in History: Kimberlin Nicole Uglum

  • The Whiteman Scholar-Athlete: Alicia Lorraine Wooten

  • The Leigh Woolverton Prize for Excellence in the Visual Arts: Catherine Virginia Ratliff