Sweet Briar College riders honored at annual ceremony

Posted on May 04, 2016 by Neil Brown

Riding awards
The Sweet Briar College riding program recently held its annual awards ceremony. Along with recognizing the ODAC, IHSA and ANRC teams, six special awards were presented to various riders.

The Fayette-Brown Challenge Trophy is awarded to a rider at the Annual Show who has demonstrated the best horsemanship and sportsmanship throughout the show. This year, the award was given to sophomore Cassie Fenton.

The Owings family donated the Owings Loving Cup in memory of their mother Grace Sunderland Owings, class of 1928. The award is presented to an upperclasswoman who has shown interest in and dedication to schooling. Senior Kate Bessette was presented with the award this year.

Senior Megan Shuford won the Lendon Gray Equitation Trophy, which was donated by Lendon F. Gray, class of 1971, who was a faculty member of the riding program from 1971 to 1975 and an Olympian in dressage. The award is given to a rider who competes at the fun show level and demonstrates outstanding improvement and equitation.

First-year Maddy Widjaja won the ’52 Cup as the first-year who showed the greatest improvement, interest and sportsmanship in riding.

The Blackwell Challenge Trophy is named in honor of Wilmer Blackwell, who brought the first horses to Sweet Briar. The award is given to an upperclasswoman who has made a significant contribution to the riding program through demonstrated leadership. Senior Madison Cromwell was presented with the award for going the extra mile, above and beyond her normal responsibilities.

Below is a full list of the other awards and honors that were presented during the ceremony.

The Rose Awards

  • ODAC — Emily Schlosberg ’19

  • IHSA — Makayla Benjamin ’18

  • ANRC — Madeleine Coleman ’16

Riding Athlete Awards

Riders in their first year:

  • Marina Biel ’18 (IHSA)

  • Katie Craig ’16 (IHSA)

  • Amelia Currin ’19 (IHSA)

  • Emily Dallas ’16 (IHSA)

  • Julia Eckstine ’16 (IHSA)

  • Kristen Frey ’16 (IHSA)

  • Annabeth Griffith ’18 (IHSA)

  • Emily Hawk ’18 (IHSA)

  • Katrina Matz ’17 (IHSA)

  • Caroline Melia ’18 (IHSA)

  • Anne Meyer ’19 (IHSA)

  • Roxy Raegan ’19 (IHSA)

  • Emily Schlosberg ’19 (IHSA & ANRC/ODAC)

  • Megan Shuford ’16 (IHSA)

  • Kim Uglum ’18 (IHSA)

  • Calee Whitten ’16 (IHSA)

Riders in their second year:

  • Courtney Barry ’18 (IHSA & ANRC/ODAC)

  • Makayla Benjamin ’18 (IHSA & ANRC/ODAC)

  • Kate Bessette ’16 (IHSA)

  • Olivia Fabian-Slocum ’17 (IHSA)

  • Cassie Fenton ’18 (IHSA)

  • Rosie Powers ’18 (IHSA & ANRC/ODAC)

Riders in their third year:

  • Mary Kate Bailey ’17 (IHSA)

  • Madeleine Coleman ’16 (IHSA & ANRC)

  • Maddy Lee ’17 (IHSA)

Riders in their fourth year:

  • Madison Cromwell ’16 (IHSA & ANRC)

Daisy Volunteer Awards

  • Emily Dallas ’16 (Non-Riding Council Member award winner)

  • Maddy Lee ’16 (Riding Council Member award winner)

Riding Level Certification


  • Marina Biel ’18

  • Natalie Bosch ’18

  • Anne Meyer ’19

  • Katie Ferguson ’17

  • Rebecca Parrish ’18