Search Committee

Sweet Briar House Sweet Briar House The search committee members represent numerous community perspectives critical to identifying the 14th president of Sweet Briar College. They are:

  • Mason Bennett Rummel ’83, Board and Committee Chair; President and CEO, James Graham Brown Foundation
  • The Honorable Verda Andrews Colvin ’87, Board Member; Justice, Supreme Court of Georgia
  • Michela English ’71, Emeriti Board Member; former Senior Executive, Discovery Communications; former Senior Vice President, National Geographic Society
  • Sally Mott Freeman ’76, Secretary of the Board; author, public relations executive, nonprofit leader
  • Michelle Gervasio, Assistant Professor Engineering
  • The Honorable Robert “Bob” Goodlatte, Board Member; former Member of the United States House of Representatives, Sixth Congressional District of Virginia
  • Fred Griffin, Vice Chair of the Board; Real Estate Developer; former Chairman, Space Center Houston
  • Elisabeth “Betsy” Muhlenfeld Wollan, former Sweet Briar President and Honorary Class Member, 1953
  • Kaitlin “Kat” Navarro ’24
  • Michelle O’Neill ’85, Board Member; Vice President of Global Government Affairs, Corning, Inc.
  • Steve Smiley, Board Member; Managing Partner, Madison Lane Partners LLC
  • Barb Watts, Director of Career Services
  • Dwana Waugh, Associate Professor of History
  • Kathryn Hagist Yunk ’91, Alumnae Alliance Representative; Director of Global Marketing Communications, GE Healthcare